Events / 2023 C.R. Stephen Lecture

2023 C.R. Stephen Lecture

4:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m.
2023 CR Stephen Lecture

Topic: Consciousness
: contact Kristy Meyer at

Featured Speaker
George A. Mashour, MD, PhD
Robert B. Sweet Professor & Chair Department of Anesthesiology
University of Michigan Ann Arbor, MI

Dr. Mashour will discuss the neural correlates of consciousness, with a focus on the controversial role of the prefrontal cortex. This discussion will span both the content of consciousness (i.e., qualitative experience) and level of consciousness (i.e., global state of arousal).

Learning Objectives

  • Differentiate phenomenal consciousness and access consciousness.
  • Differentiate content of consciousness and level of consciousness.
  • Describe the role of the prefrontal cortex in consciousness and anesthesia.
About Dr. George Mashour

George A. Mashour, MD, PhD, is an anesthesiologist and NIH-funded neuroscientist at the University of Michigan. He is internationally recognized for his work on consciousness and the mechanisms of unconsciousness. Mashour was the founding director of the Center for Consciousness Science at the University of Michigan, where he currently serves as the Robert B. Sweet Professor and Chair of the Department of Anesthesiology.

In 2022, Mashour founded the Michigan Psychedelic Center, which he currently directs. He also founded the Center for Drug Repurposing in 2019, for which he is the executive sponsor, and serves as Co-Director of the Michigan Institute for Clinical & Health Research. Mashour is President of the Association of University Anesthesiologists, a Trustee of the International Anesthesia Research Society, and Past President of the Society for Neuroscience in Anesthesiology and Critical Care.

After his undergraduate study of philosophy, he received his MD and PhD in Neuroscience from Georgetown University and was an intern, resident, and chief resident in anesthesiology at the Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School. Mashour has received numerous awards throughout his career, including two Fulbright Scholarships, the Presidential Scholar Award from the American Society of Anesthesiologists, the Distinguished Service Award from the Society for Neuroscience in Anesthesiology and Critical Care, the Excellence in Research Award from the American Society of Anesthesiologists, election as a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and election to the National Academy of Medicine.

Learn more about the Annual C.R. Stephen Lectures