Featured News Residency

Allison Mitchell, MD, named Inaugural Associate Program Director for Residency Program

Allison Mitchell, MD

An announcement from Drs. Douglas Thompson, Thomas Cox, and Michael Avidan:

Following a competitive process in which qualified and enthusiastic candidates were encouraged to apply, Dr. Allison Mitchell, MD, has been selected to serve in the newly established role of the Associate Program Director for the Anesthesiology Residency, effective immediately.

In this new role, Dr. Mitchell will support the growth and development of our residents. She will provide thoughtful leadership to our program and will be instrumental in the development of new initiatives that will enhance the training of our residents. In this regard, she will work closely with and receive guidance from department and program leadership, including Tom Cox and Douglas Thompson. Dr. Mitchell will also collaborate with other residency and education leaders, including Russell Groener, Kendall Smith, Aaron Norris, and Anand Lakshminarasimhachar.
Dr. Mitchell is a matriculant of the prestigious UT Health Sciences Center. As a graduate of our anesthesiology program here at Washington University and as a previous chief resident, Dr. Mitchell will bring a unique perspective and insight to the already robust residency program leadership. We were fortunate to recruit Dr. Mitchell to the Washington University School of Medicine in 2017, where she quickly established herself as an excellent clinician and leader. Dr. Mitchell sits on the Women and Infants Clinical Operations Committee, serves as the QA/QI Lead for OB anesthesiology and has been very active in the training of our residents in her role as the OB resident education coordinator. We are fortunate to have such a positive role model joining our program leadership and know she will share her unique perspectives and provide thoughtful leadership to guide our residency and education programs.
Please join us in congratulating Dr. Mitchell. We are delighted she has accepted this position, and we look forward to working with her in her new role.

Douglas Thompson, MD
Residency Program Director
Associate Professor of Anesthesiology

Thomas E. Cox, MD
Rudolph L. and Mary Frances Wise Professor of Anesthesiology
Chief of Pediatric Anesthesiology
Vice Chairman for Education

Michael S. Avidan, MBBCh, FCASA
Dr. Seymour and Rose T. Brown Professor of Anesthesiology
Head of the Department of Anesthesiology
Anesthesiologist-in-Chief, Barnes-Jewish Hospital