WashU, pharmacy scientists alter fentanyl, aim to make it less lethal, less addictive (Links to an external site)


A research team, led by scientists at the Center for Clinical Pharmacology at Washington University School of Medicine and the University of Health Sciences & Pharmacy in St. Louis, have altered the chemical properties of fentanyl and the way that it binds to opioid receptors on nerve cells. The goal is to improve the drug’s safety profile without eliminating its ability to alleviate pain.

Majumdar Featured in Nature Chemical Biology (Links to an external site)

The paper highlights the work of Susruta Majumdar, Ph.D., associate professor of medicinal chemistry and pharmacology at University of Health Sciences and Pharmacy in St. Louis, and his colleagues who examined the molecular differences between LFT and MP, and how they bind to MU opioid receptors.

Study elucidates mechanism of lipid regulation of ion channels

In a recent study published in Nature Communications on November 17, 2022, Wayland Cheng, MD, PhD, and colleagues solved the structure of a pentameric ligand-gated ion channel in an open-channel conformation using single particle cryo-electron microscopy.

Office of Sustainability Recognizes Department of Anesthesiology

The Department of Anesthesiology received a bronze award from the Office of Sustainability during the 5th Annual Green Carpet Awards ceremony for the strides made to reduce our environmental footprint in the Peters Building in Barnes-Jewish Hospital (South) on the medical campus.

Department of Anesthesiology 2022 Equity Champions

Shawn Reynolds, MSPA PA-C, Waliah S. RaKhem, CRA, and Amira Hodzic completed Washington University School of Medicine’s Office of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (ODEI) Equity Champions training and will now serve the Department of Anesthesiology as Equity Champions alongside Scott Markowitz, MD, Enyo Ablordeppey, MD, MPH, FACEP, FCCM, and Erin Herrera, CRNA.

Alex Mohrman appointed CRNA clinical chief at BJH

Alex Mohrmann has been named the CRNA Clinical Chief at BJH. In his new role, Alex will have the opportunity to build upon his experience as CRNA team leader to make a meaningful impact for our department.