Education Faculty & Staff Featured News Residency Department Awards

2024 Residency & Outstanding Teacher Award recipients announced

As the Residency Class of 2024 concludes its training in anesthesiology and prepares to embark on the next phase of their professional careers, we celebrate their numerous accomplishments and milestones achieved over the past four years. Additionally, several residents have been honored with special awards in recognition of their exceptional contributions. The graduating residents also selected faculty members who have significantly influenced their clinical training to receive the annual Outstanding Teacher Awards.

We are thrilled to announce this year’s residency award recipients and Outstanding Teacher Award honorees!

Leonard W. Fabian Award: Arianna Montes, MD

The Outstanding First-Year Resident Award is presented to an individual who exemplifies exceptional professionalism, unwavering commitment to high academic standards, and outstanding clinical performance.

“Arianna is truly amazing, and we are lucky to have her on our team! I have known Arianna since she joined our department as a research fellow. She has consistently stood out as positive, knowledgeable, and the quickest thinker in the room,” said Helga Koman, MD, MBA, Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology. “Since beginning her residency, she has only continued to excel. It is no surprise that she received the award for outstanding first-year resident. Arianna approaches her duties with enthusiasm and professionalism, always eager to learn more and share her knowledge. I foresee her excelling further in her training and becoming an exceptional anesthesiologist.”

Dr. Montes will continue her residency training with us in the coming year.

Peter E. Krucylak Award: Avi Dobrusin, MD

This award recognizes an outstanding graduating resident specializing in cardiothoracic anesthesia and is selected by cardiothoracic anesthesiology faculty members.

“Avi has shined ever since I first met him as a medical student in the CT ORs as a visiting medical student. The department and residency program were fortunate to recruit him, and he has continued to thrive here,” said Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology, Bruno Maranhao, MD, PhD. “It has been a true joy to see him grow and develop as an anesthesiologist.”

Dr. Dobrusin will begin fellowships in cardiothoracic anesthesiology and critical care medicine at Johns Hopkins University on July 1, 2024.

Necita L. Roa Award: John See, MD

This award, chosen by program leadership, recognizes a member of the graduating resident class for their citizenship, essential attributes, and contributions to the program.

“John has been an example of excellence since the day he interviewed for residency. I’ll never forget the time he came to help with a pediatric thrombectomy while on adult trauma call, just because he could,” said Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology, Megan Dewey, MD. “He’s incredibly deserving of this award as a team player, a role model, and an excellent clinician.”

Dr. See will begin a Pediatric Anesthesiology Fellowship at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center on July 1, 2024.

Outstanding Teacher Awards

The Outstanding Teacher Awards honor educators who go above and beyond in their dedication to education and have made a significant impact on residents—serving as both exceptional instructors and inspiring role models.

Reginald Bulkley, MD, Associate Professor of Anesthesiology

“The first time I staffed cases with Dr. Bulkley, I answered my phone ‘Hi Dr. Bulkley’ and he immediately laughed and said, ‘Please call me Reg.’ Within just a couple of months of joining our department, that same friendliness and warmth solidified Reg as one of the residents’ favorite attendings to work with and learn from,” said Chief Resident, Sam Erlinger, MD. “While relatively new to us, Reg has brought a tremendous amount of anesthesia experience with him, and his ability to translate that experience into practical tips and understandable concepts is part of what makes him such a great teacher. You can always find Reg showing trainees educational resources on his iPad, demonstrating on the TEE simulator, or emailing out practice questions. Overall, Reg is a model for professionalism, clinical excellence, continuing education and mentorship, all with a smile on his face. He is incredibly deserving of the Outstanding Teacher Award.”

Megan Dewey, MD, Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology

“The graduating CA-III class has had the great honor of knowing Dr. Dewey since her time as a chief resident during their intern year. Then, as now, she has been a role model for those around her through her dedication to both her patients and colleagues,” said Chief Resident, Avi Dobrusin, MD. “As a faculty member, Dr. Dewey has distinguished herself as a passionate and enthusiastic clinical educator who is always able to find the learning point in any situation. Junior residents deeply appreciate her calm and patient demeanor while teaching new procedures, while more senior residents are grateful for the independence she encourages (though she is always close by to lend a hand). Dr. Dewey is an asset to the department and is well-deserving of this recognition.”

Anand Lakshminarasimhachar, MD, Professor of Anesthesiology

“Dr. Lak is known by every resident as an exceptional teacher. He is always sharing his ultrasound expertise, from transesophageal echo to ocular ultrasound and everything in between. He is a favorite attending to work with and has an ability to effectively teach residents at every stage of training,” said Chief Resident, Mallory Hawksworth, MD. “His kind, patient demeanor helps put everyone in the OR at ease and creates a safe learning environment. We are very fortunate to have him as an attending and for his continued dedication to resident education. We are excited to recognize him as an outstanding teacher for 2024!”

Congratulations to all the recipients and graduates!