Education Featured Fellowships News Residency

WashU’s Anesthesiology Residency and Fellowship Classes Celebrate 2024 Graduates

As another academic year comes to a close, we celebrate the graduation of many of our residents and fellows.

On Saturday, June 15, the Residency Class of 2024 had their graduation ceremony at the Saint Louis Art Museum. During the event, Michael S. Avidan, MBBCh, FCA SA, Dr. Seymour and Rose T. Brown Professor and head of the Department of Anesthesiology, addressed the class and drew inspiration from Alfred Lord Tennyson’s “The Charge of the Light Brigade.”

He suggested that, just like the Light Brigade, the Class of 2024 charged forward with courage and determination, riding into the valley of uncertainty. “You faced immense challenges, from navigating new protocols to ensuring patient safety amidst a global health crisis. Yet, through it all, you demonstrated the core values of our profession: courage, resilience, and an unwavering commitment to your colleagues and patients,” said Avidan.

The Residency Class of 2024 made remarkable contributions, including:

  • Administering 25,904 anesthetics, and providing care for 24,039 unique patients.
  • Performing 643 organ transplants.
  • Successfully managing 13,580 airways.
  • Placing 2,570 arterial lines.
  • Inserting 1,775 central lines.
  • Administering 2,876 neuraxial blocks.
  • Conducting 5,242 peripheral nerve blocks.

“Congratulations to the extraordinary Class of 2024,” said Resident Program Director, Allison Mitchell, MD. “Their clinical expertise, profound impact on the scientific community, and outstanding mentorship are truly remarkable.”

In addition to recognizing the achievements of the graduates, the program leadership team presented several awards and honored this year’s outstanding teachers.

Avidan concluded the evening by encouraging graduates to carry forward the lessons learned, friendships forged, and the values that define our profession as they step into their careers. He emphasized the importance of honoring the trust of their patients and striving continuously to uphold the highest standards of medical practice.

Meet our 2024 Graduates


Heather Acuff, MD, PHD
Kevin Bai, MD
Karishma Bhatia, MD
Lillian Chen, MD
Michelle Chung, MD
Derek Clary, DO
William Corbett, MD
Krupa Desai, DO
Avi Dobrusin, MD
Krista Dubin, MD, PHD
Sam Erlinger, MD
Mallory Hawksworth, MD
Alan Hifko, MD
Kirin Khan, MD
Herman Luther, MD, MBA
Angela Nguyen, MD
Douglas Nguyen, MD
Michael Pistey, MD
John See, MD
Matthew Smyke, MD
Jeremy Thompson, MD, PHD
Jamie Yang, MD, PHD

Adult Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology Fellowship

The Adult Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology Fellowship celebrated its six fellows at Top Golf on Sunday, June 16, 2024.

Stephan Diljak, MD
Mohamed Ginina, MBBS*
Alexander E. Lewis, MD, MPH, MBA
Ruchik Patel, MD
Peter A. Szatkowski, MD
Jaclyn Yu, MD

*Dr. Ginina will graduate in October but was honored at the graduation ceremony with his colleagues.

Critical Care Medicine Fellowship

The Critical Care Medicine Fellowship hosted its graduation celebration at the Saint Louis Zoo on Saturday, June 29, 2024, for its eight graduating fellows.

Jeffrey Chen, MD 
Shawn Poya Hassani, MD 
Woo Kyung Lee, MS, MD 
Christopher Joesph Mahrous, MD
Hannah Elizabeth Parks, MD
Calvin Patten, MD
Logan Kyle Walsh, MD
Michael Paul Wassermann, MD

Obstetric Anesthesia Fellowship

The Obstetric Anesthesia Fellowship held a memorable celebration on Saturday, June 8, 2024, at Dr. Palanisamy’s home to honor their two esteemed graduates.

Maitri Shah, MD
Patricia Strutz, MD

Pain Medicine and Adult & Pediatric Pain Dual Fellowships

On Friday, June 21, 2024, a joint celebration took place at Five Oaks on Warson to celebrate the graduating fellows from the Pain Medicine Fellowship and the Adult & Pediatric Pain Dual Fellowship programs:

Fritz Breckner, DO (Adult and Pediatric Pain)
Alexander Chamessian, MD
Peter Park, DO
Ilesha Shah, MD
Jeremy Thompson, MD (ASAP Fellow)

Pediatric Anesthesiology Fellowship

On Saturday, July 27, 2024, the Pediatric Anesthesiology Fellowship Program will celebrate its two graduates at The Lodge at Grant’s Trail.

Hannah Padgett, MD
Sasha Ridgell, MD

Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Fellowship

On June 5, 2024, the Regional Anesthesia & Acute Pain Fellowship hosted its graduation celebration at Il Bel Lago. All three graduates will be staying at WashU as faculty.

Kathleen Bickel, MD
Ding Ding, MD
Mark Hanak, MD