Education Featured News Residency

Chief Residents Announced for 2022-2023

We are very excited to announce that the Anesthesiology Chief Residents for the next 2022-2023 academic year will be: Mark Hanak, MD, Manjaap Sidhu, MD, and Patricia Strutz, MD.

These chief residents were selected by a vote of their resident peers and faculty. There are many highly qualified and deserving individuals in this class, several of whom received many votes.

Meet the Chief Residents

Mark Hanak, MD

Mark Hanak, MD

Mark earned his Bachelor of Science in Biology (BS) from the University of Virginia and his MD from the University of Virginia School of Medicine. His interests include medical education and resident mentorship. He plans to pursue a fellowship in regional anesthesia and acute pain medicine at WashU following residency.

Manjaap Sidhu, MD

Manjaap earned his Atrium Baccalaureus (AB) from Washington University in St. Louis and his MD from Southern Illinois University School of Medicine. His interests include QI and resident education. He plans to pursue a career in cardiac and trauma anesthesiology following residency.

Patricia Strutz, MD

Patricia Strutz, MD

Patricia earned her Atrium Baccalaureus (AB) in Anthropology with a minor in Modern Dance from Washington University in St. Louis. She earned her MD from the University of Illinois at Chicago College of Medicine. Her interests include women’s health, medical education, and translational and clinical research with a focus on peripartum outcomes. She plans to pursue an obstetric anesthesiology fellowship following residency.

Congratulations to our new Chief Residents! We are confident that they will lead our residency training program with integrity and courage, and will help foster a new generation of physician-scientists that will thrive wherever they go.

Allison Mitchell, MD
Residency Program Director
Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology

Douglas R. Thompson, MD
Vice-Chair for Education

Michael S. Avidan, MBBCh, FCASA
Dr. Seymour and Rose T. Brown Professor of Anesthesiology
Head of the Department of Anesthesiology
Anesthesiologist-in-Chief, Barnes-Jewish Hospital