Yoshida receives ASCI’s 2024 Emerging-Generation Award

Mitsukuni Yoshida, MD, PhD, a current resident physician in the department’s Academic Scholar Advancement Program (ASAP), has been selected for the prestigious 2024 Emerging-Generation (E-Gen) Awards by the American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI).

Department celebrates CRNA Class of 2023

The Goldfarb School of Nursing, including the Nurse Anesthesia Program, celebrated its commencement ceremony on Friday, December 15, 2023, at the Stifel Theatre.

Thompson receives FAER Mentored Research Training Grant

Jeremy Thompson, MD, PhD, recently received a $250,000 Mentored Research Training Grant from the Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research (FAER) for his project titled, “Molecular Adaptations in Mesolimbic Dopamine Neurons Underlying the Transition from Acute to Chronic Pain.”

Moquin inducted into WashU’s Academy of Educators

Rachel Moquin, EdD, assistant professor and director of learning and development,  was recently inducted into the Academy of Educators at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis.

Moron-Concepcion named Mallinckrodt Professor of Anesthesiology

Jose Moron-Concepcion, PhD, a professor of anesthesiology, neuroscience, and psychiatry, was installed as the Henry Elliot Mallinckrodt Professor of Anesthesiology at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis on Thursday, September 28, 2023.

Medical experts convene for Comprehensive Airway Management course

On Saturday, September 23, 2023, the Department of Anesthesiology at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis hosted the Comprehensive Airway Management course, a one-day conference designed to help healthcare providers sharpen their skills and knowledge in airway management.

Med Student Represents School of Medicine at CleanMed Conference  (Links to an external site)

Caellagh Catley, a dedicated fourth-year medical student at Washington University in St. Louis, mentored by WashU Anesthesiology staff, Helga Komen, MD, and made significant strides in promoting sustainability within the healthcare sector at the recent CleanMed 2023 conference — an annual gathering of healthcare professionals who come together to address the climate crisis and explore practical steps toward sustainability.