Education Featured News Residency

Match Day 2021: WashU Anesthesiology Welcomes Twenty-one New Residents

2021 Match Day - WashU Anesthesiology

“Whoever you are and wherever you come from, you are welcome here at Washington University.”

This phrase is something many are familiar with within the Department of Anesthesiology, and we are proud to welcome the next residency cohort who will join our nationally ranked program beginning July 2021.

On March 19, 2021, twenty-one physicians matched with our department to begin their anesthesiology residency, including two graduates from Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis.

Due to the pandemic, recruitment was conducted virtually this year, and our department interviewed many exceptional candidates throughout recruitment season. Overall, the National Resident Matching Program (NRMP) recorded 48,700 applicants registered, marking this the largest match in NRMP history.

Our incoming class will begin their internships this summer (2021) and consists of: 

Congratulations to this extraordinary class of 2025!

Incoming First-Year Residents

Karam Atli, Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine
Javaughn Baker, Meharry Medical College
Ludmilla Candido Santos, Escola Bahiana de Medicina e Saúde Pública (EBMSP)
Rebecca Chen, WashingtonUniversity in St. Louis School of Medicine
Ryan DeAngelis, Medical College of Wisconsin
Shourik Dutta, University of Virginia School of Medicine
Shreya Goswami, Institute of Postgraduate Medical Education & Research
Sadia Karani, The University of Texas Southwestern Medical School
Michael Lopez, Medical College of Georgia at Augusta University
Divya Mehta, Government Medical College Chandigarh
Joseph Miller, University of California, Riverside School of Medicine
Rasheeq Nizam, University of Virginia School of Medicine
Abigail Petersen, Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences F. Edward Hebert School of Medicine
Parita Sutaria, University of Alabama School of Medicine
Andrew Thorsen, Baylor College of Medicine
Chideraa Ukeje, Northwestern University The Feinberg School of Medicine
Chizoba Umesi, Duke University School of Medicine
Jeffrey Wherritt, Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences College of Osteopathic
Dominique Williams, Medical University of South Carolina College of Medicine
Mitsukuni Yoshida*, Washington University in St. Louis School of Medicine

* participating in the Academic Scholars Advancement Program (ASAP)

Incoming CA-1 Residents

Elizabeth Wong*, Northwestern University The Feinberg School of Medicine

*advanced-track resident joining as a CA-1 in July 2022