Appointments Featured News

Clare Ridley, MD, appointed Director of the Surgical COVID ICU

Clare Ridley, MD

The Department of Anesthesiology is pleased to announce the appointment of Clare Ridley, MD, as Director of the Surgical COVID Intensive Care Unit, located in 8200 ICU. In this new role, Dr. Ridley will be collaborating with hospital and ICU nursing leadership to ensure delivery of outstanding care to critically ill patients admitted to the unit. She will also work closely with APP leadership and Telemedicine ICU leadership to develop and respond to unit-based outcome metrics. Other duties will include participating in the development of clinical guidelines that relate to the care of COVID patients, implementing quality improvement initiatives, and promoting the educational mission of our department among fellows, residents, and APPs who rotate through the 8200 ICU.

Dr. Ridley is an Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology in our department. She received her bachelor’s degree from Columbia University and graduated from Washington University School of Medicine in 2008. She completed her Anesthesiology Residency at Washington University and then traveled to Philadelphia to complete fellowships in both Critical Care and Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology at the University of Pennsylvania. Following fellowship, she returned to join our department’s faculty, where she works clinically as an intensivist in our ICUs and as a CT anesthesiologist. She also currently serves as the Assistant Director in the Cardiothoracic ICU, where she oversees resident education and performance evaluations, and she will be continuing in that role as well.

Please join us in congratulating Dr. Ridley. We are delighted that she has accepted this position, and we are looking forward to working with her in this new capacity.

Michael S. Avidan, MBBCh, FCASA
Dr. Seymour and Rose T. Brown Professor of Anesthesiology
Head of the Department of Anesthesiology
Anesthesiologist-in-Chief, Barnes-Jewish Hospital

Anne M. Drewry, MD, MSCI
Associate Professor of Anesthesiology
Division Chief of Critical Care Medicine