Appointments Education Faculty & Staff Featured News

Douglas Thompson, MD, appointed Vice-Chair for Education

An announcement from Michael S. Avidan, MBBCh, FCASA, Dr. Seymour, Head of the Department of Anesthesiology.

It is my great pleasure to announce that Dr. Douglas Thompson has been appointed as the Vice-Chair for Education in the Department of Anesthesiology. In this role, he will provide strategic direction to our educational missions, build upon an already robust and dynamic education division, and help enhance educational career paths for our faculty members and clinicians.

Douglas Thompson, MD
Douglas Thompson, MD

Dr. Thompson joined our department in July 2017 as the Associate Residency Program Director and quickly rose through the ranks to become Residency Program Director, Director of Anesthesiology Education, and now Vice-Chair for Education. In 2019, Dr. Thompson was elected to the prestigious Washington University Academy of Educators and helped ensure that our residency training program remains one of the top anesthesiology training programs in the country.

Throughout Dr. Thompson’s career at Washington University, he has been an outstanding resource and mentor to our trainees and members of our education division. His dedication to creating a nurturing learning environment complements our educational missions, and we look forward to seeing him grow our programs both within and beyond our department.

As we begin our next residency recruitment cycle, one of Dr. Thompson’s priorities will be to appoint a successor for the Residency Program Director role and work closely with them to ensure a seamless transition. He will continue to work collaboratively with an eclectic, talented, and committed educational team to improve all educational initiatives and to ensure that we keep advancing as a preeminent academic anesthesiology department.

Please join me in congratulating Dr. Thompson on his appointment as Vice-Chair for Education in our department.

Michael S. Avidan, MBBCh, FCASA
Dr. Seymour and Rose T. Brown Professor of Anesthesiology
Head of the Department of Anesthesiology
Anesthesiologist-in-Chief, Barnes-Jewish Hospital