Awards Department Awards Faculty & Staff Featured News

Janice Hoffman receives Sandy Hawes Memorial Award

The Department of Anesthesiology is delighted to announce that Janice Hoffman, the executive secretary of the Pain Management Division, has been selected as the 2023 Sandy Hawes Memorial Award recipient. 

The annual award was established to honor department members who possess excellent communication skills, are supportive in nature, well-poised, dedicated, and go above and beyond the call of duty, reminiscent of Sandy’s illustrious career at Washington University.

Recognizing Janice as the second-ever recipient of the award is a testament to her outstanding contributions and the profound impact she’s made within the department. Her dedication, compassion, and unwavering commitment resonate with the principles Sandy exemplified throughout her esteemed career.

“Janice’s adaptability and flexibility, and steadfast dedication, are truly remarkable. She seamlessly manages countless supportive tasks that underpin the success of our entire pain team,” said Lesley Rao, MD, Chief of the Pain Management Division.

By receiving the annual Sandy Hawes Memorial Award, Janice is not only recognized for her significant contributions, but she also furthers the tradition of celebrating those who go above and beyond, echoing the spirit of dedication Sandy showcased.

“Janice’s exceptional talent lies not only in managing her responsibilities but also in nurturing each division member with genuine care and warmth,” said Professor of Anesthesiology, Robert Swarm, MD. “She truly is a cornerstone of both our division and the department.”

Congratulations, Janice, on this well-deserved recognition as the Sandy Hawes Memorial Award’s second recipient. Your loyalty, kindness, and commitment continue to inspire us all.