CRNA Featured News

Department celebrates CRNA Class of 2020

CRNA Class of 2020
From left to right: Joseph Balassi, Khatera Najrabi, Brandon Ufert, Adrienne Nations, Mathew Gielow, Emily Imhoff, Lindsey Schurter and Elvira Sayfutdinova.

The Nurse Anesthesia program at the Goldfarb School of Nursing celebrated its Commencement virtually on Saturday, December 19, 2020.

On Saturday afternoon, family members and anesthesia providers were invited to a special virtual ceremony where Nancy Ridenour, PhD, APRN, BC, FAAN, the Maxine Clark and Bob Fox President of Goldfarb School of Nursing, Mayola Rowser, PhD, DNP, FNP-BC, PMHNP, the Jack Taylor Dean of Goldfarb and Michael Avidan, MBBCh, FCASA, Dr. Seymour and Rose T. Brown Professor of Anesthesiology and Head of the Department of Anesthesiology gave opening statements about the graduates and the nurse anesthesia program. Molly Barry, CRNA and Elvira Sayfutdinova, the 2020 Class President, provided wonderful presentations to all in attendance.

Bernadette Henrichs, the program director, presented the Tsugie Watanabe Award for Outstanding CT SRNA and Brian Torres, the assistant program director, presented the Watanabe-Henrichs Endowed Scholarship Award and the Agatha Hodgins CRNA award. Sarah Perez, faculty, presented the Award for Clinical Excellence.

Overall, eight students completed their nurse anesthesia education and received a Master of Science in Nursing. Five graduates will be staying on as CRNAs in the Department of Anesthesiology at WashU.

Award Recipients

  • Tsugie Watanabe Award for Outstanding CT SRNA: Emily Imhoff
  • Award for Clinical Excellence: Elvira Sayfutdinova
  • Agatha Hodgins CRNA Award: Elvira Sayfutdinova
  • Watanabe-Henrichs Endowed Scholarship Award Recipients: Melissa Milnor and Claira Sousa
  • The Beverly Krause Outstanding CRNA Clinical Instructor: Mary Jo Moeller
  • Outstanding MD Clinical Instructor: Alexander Hincker
  • The Helen Lamb Outstanding Didactic Instructor: Sarah Perez

Congratulations to the entire Class of 2020 Nurse Anesthesia cohort!